

#### COMMISSIONERS

Chairperson VACANT Special District Member

> Vice-Chair STEVE GREGORY City Member

DEBBIE ARNOLD County Member

JIMMY PAULDING County Member

ROBERT ENNS Special District Member

> ED WAAGE City Member

VACANT Public Member

### ALTERNATES

DAWN ORTIZ-LEGG County Member

ED EBY Special District Member

> CARLA WIXOM City Member

David Watson Public Member

### <u>Staff</u>

ROB FITZROY Executive Officer

IMELDA MARQUEZ Analyst

Morgan Bing Analyst

HOLLY WHATLEY Legal Counsel San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission SLO LAFCO - Serving the Area of San Luis Obispo County

## TO: INDEPENDENT SPECIAL DISTRICT SELECTION COMMITTEE

FROM: ROB FITZROY, EXECUTIVE OFFICER

DATE: DECEMBER 6, 2024

## RE: REQUEST FOR NOMINATIONS FOR LAFCO SEATS

**Background.** This nomination period is for two Regular Special District seats on LAFCO. One seat is for a two-year term set to expire in December 2026 and another seat that would serve through 2028. Commissioner Marshall Ochylski, after 12 years of dedicated service, has stepped down from his LAFCO Special District seat that was set to expire in 2026; thus creating a vacancy for the remainder of this term through December 2026. Robert Enns' four-year term expires December 2024. This seat is available for the standard four-year term and would serve through December 2028. The Cortese-Knox-Hertzberg Act allows an existing Commissioner (in this instance Robert Enns) to remain on LAFCO until the nomination and election process is complete. The existing member may also re-run should they wish to and are eligible.

**Instructions.** Each Special District may nominate one candidate for each seat. The nominated candidate must be an elected Board of Director of your respective District. If your District wishes to nominate a candidate, please schedule this request for nominations on an agenda for a meeting of your Board of Directors as soon as possible, or if you have already been delegated by your Board as the representative of your District, you may submit a nomination on behalf of your District. Nomination forms are required to be submitted by the end of the nomination period. **The nomination period is 60 days and begins on December 9, 2024, and ends on February 7, 2024, at 5:00 p.m.** The completed nomination form may be submitted to the LAFCO office via mail or <u>e-mail: mbing@slo.lafco.ca.gov</u>. Please make sure the form is signed by the Board President or General Manager and the Nominee.

If more than one nomination for either of the open positions is received, it is required by law hold an election. The Executive Officer shall prepare a ballot election and send it by email to each Special District with voting instructions at the conclusion of the nomination period. If an election is required, the governing body of each Special District will have the opportunity to cast a vote for any of the nominees. Further communications will be provided based on the results of the nomination period if an election is required.

A nomination form is attached to assist your District in the nomination process. Also, please view the LAFCO website (<u>slo.lafco.ca.gov</u>) for additional information about LAFCO. Please call 805-788-2096 if you have any questions.

cc: Members of the Commission Holly Whatley, LAFCO Legal Counsel



## NOMINATION FOR LAFCO

# SPECIAL DISTRICT MEMBER

The

(Insert Name of Special District)

Hereby nominates \_\_\_\_\_\_as a nominee to serve as the (Insert Name of Nominee)

Special District Member on the San Luis Obispo Local Agency Formation Commission (SLOLAFCO).

For the following Seat (Please select on or both if interested):

Fill the four-year term set to expire December 2028

Fill the vacant seat set to expire in December 2026

The Board of Director's action (if applicable) was taken on an agenda item on:

(Insert Date of Board Agenda and Action)

(General Manager or Chairman/President)

(Email address)

(Signature-Nominee)